Worlds Smallest Iambic Keyer Paddles

I’ve done a couple of homemade dual lever paddles but recently I wanted to demonstrate my Tiny85 Arduino based keyer project at a local Maker Faire, so wanted something I could put in my pocket. In a few minutes, I made this. It’s a standard 3.5mm (1/8 inch) stereo plug. You can’t get any more portable than that.

DSCF0878

 

Unscrewing the plastic shell reveals the secret sauce.

DSCF0879

 

This is the dash paddle side. Just a tiny bit of thin copper soldered to the plug terminal. For those readers needing details, the copper came from the band around a Basil Hayden’s whiskey bottle.  We recycle!

DSCF0880

 

Here is the dot side.

DSCF0882

 

A  bottom view, you can see the two copper strips and how the sleeve (ground) contact was bent to form the common contact. A little careful tweaking left a thick sheet of paper’s worth of space between each copper strip and the common contact.

DSCF0881

 

And the top side.

DSCF0884

 

I was surprised to find it actually works. Could be useful on a QRP mountain top expedition. Have a look at this YouTube video.

  1. I don’t do dit dot but I liked this. I watched the you tube to figure out how it worked. I thought you squeezed some clever gizmo in the wood to make the dit dot but it’s just a protective cover.

    • Sorry, no wood in this project. I couldn’t get any more detail than you see because that’s as close as the little camera would focus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

